NSW Treasury has a highly skilled and professional team who manage the State’s finances and assets, monitor the performance of its commercial agencies and develop its financial and industrial relations policies. With over 500 analysts, economists and specialists from all backgrounds, we are known for the provision of quality advice and influence, excellence in delivery, and strong and transparent risk management.

Treasury was established in April 1824 and is the oldest continuing government agency in Australia. Read more about Treasury's history on our history timeline. It is a department within the meaning of Schedule 1 of the Government Sector Employment Act 2013.


Our core responsibilities

Management of NSW finances

  • consistent collection and consolidation of financial information from public entities
  • strong financial management through accurate data and advice
  • effective delivery of the Budget and other financial reports, on behalf of the Treasurer.

Analysis, advice and delivery

  • informed fiscal, economic, commercial and financial policy advice
  • innovative reforms which support a strong and competitive economy
  • robust risk management and governance frameworks.

Management of NSW assets

  • value-creating commercial and financial transactions
  • respected commercial, financial and service delivery reforms
  • market-leading analysis and advice on private financing of public infrastructure
  • managing, monitoring and advising on the efficiency and effectiveness of public sector commercial agencies.

Primary legislation administered by NSW Treasury

Treasury administers a large range of Acts and Regulations on behalf of the Treasurer and Minister for Industrial Relations. The following Acts constitute the primary legislation which governs most of our core business.

  • Annual Reports Acts (Departments, 1985; Statutory Bodies, 1984)
  • Fiscal Responsibility Act 2012
  • Long Service Corporation Act 2010
  • Public Finance and Audit Act 1983
  • Public Authorities (Financial Arrangements) Act 1987
  • Government Sector Employment Act 2013 (Part 4, Division 6, jointly with the Premier)
  • Appropriation Act 2014
  • Appropriation (Budget Variations) Act 2014
  • Appropriation (Parliament) Act 2014
  • Restart NSW Fund Act 2011
  • Annual Holidays Act 1944
  • Long Service Leave Act 1955
  • Public Holidays Act 2010

Last updated: 30/07/2019